top of page

Tina Turner Reveals That Her Husband Donated a Kidney For Her



Madonna's Next Album Will Arrive in 2019

Tina Turner has revealed that she underwent a kidney transplant with an organ donated by her husband.

In an upcoming autobiography, the 78-year-old singer confesses that she suffered from kidney disease, and by 2016 her kidneys were functioning at "20 percent and were rapidly sinking."

She said her husband, Erwin Bach, "surprised me by saying he wanted to give me one of his kidneys." Turner says she was "overwhelmed by the enormity of his offer."

"When he thought about his future, he thought about me. 'My future is our future,' he told me, "the singer said, adding that she felt "happy, overwhelmed and relieved that we had survived."

Turner married the German music executive in 2013, after a long relationship. Bach is 16 years younger than her.

In her autobiography, Tina also devotes a chapter to her stormy relationship with Ike Turner, revealing that she attempted suicide as the only way to end her suffering.

"Ike was not a person what is said to be attractive, in fact he was not cute and not even my type, he seemed old and he was only 25 years old, in fact I could not help thinking 'God, it's ugly'", she says. memoirs. Tina became a member of the group and after maintaining a relationship with the saxophonist of the band -with whom she had her first child- decided to start a loving relationship with Ike.

The band started making money thanks to the addition of Tina Turner. "My relationship with Ike collapsed the day he realized it could be his money-making machine, "she recalls. "He needed to control me, economically and psychologically so that I could never leave him."

"Our relationship was defined by abuse and fear, not by love, not even by affection, "she says. "At my lowest point, I convinced myself that death was the only way out. I told my doctor that I had sleep problems. Right after dinner I took the 50 pills that the doctor gave me. I was sad when I woke up, but I came out of the darkness and realized that I was destined to survive."

Ike gave her the famous nickname "Tina", and according to the singer, he forced her to change her last name. "I told him I did not want to change my name and I was not sure I wanted to go on tour. At first he started insulting me. Then he grabbed a wooden shoe to hit me. He knew what he was doing, if you play the guitar you will not use your fists. He grabbed the shoe to hit me on the head, he always hit my head. I was in shock, I started crying. Ike ordered me to go to bed, at that very moment I began to hate him, the last thing I wanted was to make love to him, if you can call it that. When he finished, I was lying there, with my head swollen, thinking, 'You're pregnant and you do not have anywhere to go.'

In 1976 she decided to escape this torment and separated from Ike. At the trial, Tina only asked for two things: keep the name and stay with the Jaguars. "It was funny, I did not have money for food or for rent but I had two Jaguars, taking into account my age, my sex, my color and the time in which we lived, I did not aim very well at my situation, but we must move forward".

The singer prepares the release of the book "Tina Turner: My Love Story", through the Penguin publishing house. In it, he encourages people to sign up to donate organs.


Copyright © 2018, ClassicRockA-Z. All rights reserved.

Related Posts

See All

All Materials related directly to Artists,, are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels. All Materials are provided for educational purposes only , If you like an artist or song, please support them by buying their relative CD, MP3, itune, song, or movie

Related Posts
Rock Music transparent_1000px.png
Latest Posts

Help Us Improve

Is There Something You Would Like To See on ClassicRockA-Z?

Submit A  Request To Add In The Form Below

Your Privacy is Important to us Privacy Policy

Rock Music transparent_1000px.png
trust.png

Copyright ©2017. ClassicRockA-Z.com 

All rights reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including copying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior written permission of the publisher, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical reviews and certain other noncommercial uses permitted by copyright law.

By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use

.About Us   |   Privacy   |   Terms of Use   |  Site Map   |  Contact Us

All Materials related directly to Artists,, are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels. All Materials are provided for educational purposes only , If you like an artist or song, please support them by buying their relative CD, MP3, itune, song, or movie.
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Website launched June, 2017

Location - Lexington, Nebraska. U.S.A.

bottom of page