top of page

Paul Simon Says Goodbye at Final Hometown Show of Farewell Tour



On Saturday night, Paul Simon concluded his "Homeward Bound" farewell tour at Flushing Meadows Corona Park in Flushing, New York, a few miles from where he grew up.

"I've often wondered what it feels like to get to the point where I would consider taking my professional career to a natural end," Simon said of the farewell tour. "Now I know: it feels a little unsettling, a bit stimulating and with some relief. I love making music, my voice is still strong and my band is an adjusted and extraordinary group of talented musicians. I think about music constantly. I am very grateful for a successful career and, of course, first and foremost for audiences who heard something in my music that touched their hearts."

Explaining his decision to have his last concert at Flushing Meadows Park, Simon added: "It seems more destiny than the coincidence that the last concert of this farewell tour has to do at Flushing Meadows Corona Park. I could have come by bicycle from my house to this place in about 20 minutes, when I was a child. But this is more of a goodbye than a farewell. Thanks to everyone for the trip, I had a great time."

The setlist for Simon's final concert spanned 26 songs, including two separate encores. The show began with "America" ​​by Simon & Garfunkel and was followed by other fundamental songs, such as "The Boy in the Bubble", "Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard" and "Bridge Over Troubled Water". The night closed with the interpretations of "Graceland", "The Boxer" and "The Sound of Silence".

Simon told the audience that he was willing to offer some loose concerts in the future, but that "Homeward Bound" marked his last tour.



Copyright © 2018, ClassicRockA-Z. All rights reserved.


Related Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


All Materials related directly to Artists,, are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels. All Materials are provided for educational purposes only , If you like an artist or song, please support them by buying their relative CD, MP3, itune, song, or movie

Related Posts
Rock Music transparent_1000px.png
Latest Posts

Help Us Improve

Is There Something You Would Like To See on ClassicRockA-Z?

Submit A  Request To Add In The Form Below

Your Privacy is Important to us Privacy Policy

bottom of page