top of page

Alice Cooper Predicts Next U.S. President Will Be ‘Worse Than Trump’

Alice Cooper Predicts Next U.S. President Will Be ‘Worse Than Trump’

Alice Cooper predicted that the next president of the United States will be "worse" than the current president Donald Trump, while arguing that musicians who talk about politics with their fans make an "abuse of power."

The iconic rocker made a distinction between making political statements with the intention of encouraging people to support a particular point of view and using a platform to help with humanitarian work.

"I do not like to mix politics and rock 'n' roll," Cooper told The Guardian . And he explained: "I do not see Bono, Sting and Bruce Springsteen as politicians. I consider them humanitarians, which helps people who can not help themselves. But when musicians tell people who to vote for, I think that's an abuse of power. You are telling your fans not to think for themselves, just think like you. Rock 'n' roll is about freedom, and that is not freedom."

Cooper added: "I want my shows to take you as far as possible from politics. It is supposed to be an escape from the world in which we live. And you know that the next president will be worse than Trump, right?"

In the same interview, Cooper praised his parents for offering him all the support they could to fulfill their musical ambitions. "My family had no problem with rock 'n' roll. My parents were really great swing dancers, "he said. "They were worried about the lifestyle (of rock 'n' roll): drugs, sex ... and they were right. Only when I got sober and saw all my friends die, I realized they were right. I'm doing the best records I've done and my health is fantastic. I did not need those other things."

He described his mother as a "tiger", explaining: "She is 95 years old and is my biggest fan. If you say something bad about Alice Cooper, she'll jump on you. I was lucky to have the parents I had."

Copyright © 2018, ClassicRockA-Z. All rights reserved.

Related Posts

See All

Commentaires


All Materials related directly to Artists,, are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels. All Materials are provided for educational purposes only , If you like an artist or song, please support them by buying their relative CD, MP3, itune, song, or movie

Related Posts
Rock Music transparent_1000px.png
Latest Posts

Help Us Improve

Is There Something You Would Like To See on ClassicRockA-Z?

Submit A  Request To Add In The Form Below

Your Privacy is Important to us Privacy Policy

bottom of page